The History Of Bosvine Farm As It Is Now
Which Was Owned By Dionysius Williams In The Nineteenth
present day Bosvine derived its name after the original Bosivine which
was the property of Lord Falmouth and was cited between Trevear and brew
farms os/n 380, 381, 382, 383, 384, 385, 387.
census of 1900 Bosvine was classified as too small, the land was then
amalgamated with Trevear farm and therefore lost its identity. The
homestead was sited at the bottom of field o/s 381
The farm known
as Bosvine in the twentieth century was part of the estate of Dionysius
Williams and became part of St Aubyn estate. In the latter part of the
nineteenth century. Records show it being farmed by Matthew Nicholas
prior to him moving to Mayon farm.
was part of the Mayon Green Estate and was purchased by S.S Jackson on
22 November 1922, the farm was occupied by Ceciul Trewern until 1930,
owing to the homestead had fallen into disrepair he built a bungalow to
live in, when he moved from Bosvine to the cove he dismantled the
bungalow and rebuilt it in the cove which today is known as wave crest.
parts of the field’s os 285 and 134 were sold to Miss Belfield who
sold part of o/s 134 to Frederick Shannon for building purposes. S.S
Jackson reinstated the building at Bosvine and built one extra cow byre,
also a slaughterhouse to supply meat to Jacksons stores. He worked the
farm until 1959 when he transferred the farm to his son Cyril who owing
to his wife suffering a massive stroke was unable to carry on with the
farm, he sold it to J.H.M and A.J Nicholas in 1976, the building was
later demolished to make a site for the building of a telephone sub
supplied by Dave Jackson (on
behalf of Cyril Jackson former owner of Bosvine Farm.).